Lined Knitted Bag With A Pocket

I wasn’t able to make to make it to the grandest knitterly farewell party ever for Kristi, Cookie’s co-blogger. It looked like really great fun. See Abigail’s or Cindy’s blog for some really great pictures and videos. Since I couldn’t be there to send her off, I made her a little sock knitting-related present to give to her at her last BobaKnit.

It’s the perfect size for a ball of sock yarn, needles, a sock in progress, and a tape measure. It’s basically the charming Spiral Rib Bag from One Skein: 30 Quick Projects to Knit & Crochet with a few embellishments. I added a contrasting single crochet border to the top edge and used the same yarn for the i-cord and the bottom of the bag.

But every bag that holds knitting needs a lining to keep needles from poking through and a pocket to hold little things that tend to wander.

So, I found some fabric in my stash and measured out the sides of the lining and added a half inch seam allowance.

Then I computed the diameter of circular bottom, since I know its circumference:

diameter = circumference/pi

Since the bag measured 7.5 ” across flattened, the circumference of the circular bottom is 15″, making the finished diameter of the bottom of the lining about 4.75 “. Adding a half inch seam allowance, the circle of fabric needs to have 5.75” diameter. I found a bowl in my kitchen that was about the right size and used that as a cutting pattern.

Here’s all the pieces cut out, including a pocket!

Next, I fold down the top edge of the pocket and sew hem. Then the remaining three sides are folded under and sewn in place. This is where I wished I had one of those sewing machines that can embroider letters! Since I don’t have one, I stitch in my name and the year by hand.

I then sew the side seam and pin the bottom in place, distributing the fullness evenly.

I sew the bottom in place, slip it into the bag, fold the top edge under, and pin the lining into the bag. I machine sewed the lining in place, all the way around, right through the folded lining and the top edge of the knitted bag.

I really liked the way this turned out and it fits my sock knitting perfectly. I hope Kristi enjoys it.

Yarn: MC – Lily Sugar & Cream – Potpourri Hombre

CC – Lion Brand Cotton Ease – Lime
Needles: US size 8

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abigail
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 00:23:47

    What a sweet gift, Pauline!

  2. Kristi
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 00:28:23

    The bag is awesome, I love it! (or should I say “I

  3. Kathy in Iowa
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 06:50:59

    What a thoughtful (and beautiful) gift! I am sure she will love it – anyone would!! Love the fabric pattern too – so cute!

  4. Brenda
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 16:23:34

    It’s a wonderful gift! I am certain Kristi will love it and use it often. Thanks for including the directions for how you lined it.

  5. mrsek
    Jul 06, 2007 @ 04:01:37

    very nice and I like the lining a lot ! e